Assignments

A few years ago, I was introduced to the concept of receiving assignments from God. Much to my dismay, I quickly discovered that when it came to an assignment from God you basically had no choice in receiving it. Of course you have free will to ignore it, but just because you ignore it doesn’t mean that it will go away. I realized when I begin asking God for attributes such as patience, humility and forgiveness toward others all types of people and uncomfortable situations initiated in my life.

I remember saying, “God, I don’t want to be bothered.  Why do I have to take on this burden? Why, why, why?” Then it hit me. God was only answering my prayers. Apparently, it was not in the way I imagined. I simply wanted God to just give me patience. So he did, but by way of dealing with someone that I really loved but most days I didn’t really like. Over time, God showed me that when he assigns us something, it’s not about our likes and dislikes. It’s about him using you to help, bless, encourage, inspire and motivate others.

Take a moment to think about what you’ve asked God for. Is he answering and making you into a better person by putting you in not so fun situations? Perhaps it’s God little way of sharpening you and answering your prayers! It says in his word what is bound to happen when we finish the assignment! 🙂 Proverbs 27:7 states,  “As iron sharpens iron, so one man sharpens another.”  Isaiah 61:7 states,For your shame ye shall have double; and for confusion they shall rejoice in their portion: therefore in their land they shall possess the double: everlasting joy shall be unto them.”

Leave a Reply

